Thoughtrek 💭🚶

I like dice now thanks to Baldur's Gate 3

I've always enjoyed single player RPGs and recently, I started playing Baldur's Gate 3. The use of dice rolls in RPGs has always been interesting to me, but I never knew where it came from. After playing for about 30 hours, as Steam showed, I found myself wanting to buy a d20.

As I looked for dice online, I came across many attractive dice sets. The variety was huge, and I had a hard time deciding which ones to choose. I ended up on Die Hard Dice's website, where I added a few items to my cart. However, I soon realized that I didn't actually have any practical use for them. I was likely drawn to how pretty they looked or perhaps the idea of having something to idly play with.

After giving it some thought, I decided not to spend $200 on dice sets I didn't need. Instead, I bought a dice set from a local seller for about $2. I was oddly pleased with it when it arrived, despite having no real use for it.

I sometimes roll dice for simple mental games. I might ask myself, "How much does this person like me?" and roll a d% and a d10, or roll a d12 to decide "How many months until my next trip?" It's a bit of silly fun though not particularly useful.

I still look at pretty dice online sometimes. They're just so nice to look at! They're not useful to me at all, but they add a touch of fun to my day.

dice